# **SHIRE OF BRUCE ROCK**

# MINUTES – ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF ELECTORS 20 FEBRUARY 2025

# **Table of Contents**

1.	Welcoming by the Shire President	2
2.	Record of attendances and apologies	2
	President Speech	
	Confirmation of the 2024 minutes of the Annual Meeting of Electors	
5.	Business arising from previous minutes	3
	General Business	
8.	Closure of the meeting by the Shire President	3

#### SHIRE OF BRUCE ROCK

#### **MINUTES – ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF ELECTORS 20 FEBRUARY 2025**

## 1. Welcoming by the Shire President

The Shire President, Cr Ram Rajagopalan opened the meeting at 3.00pm, welcoming everyone present.

#### 2. Record of attendances and apologies

Shire President, Cr Ram Rajagopalan
Deputy President, Cr T Crooks
Cr K Foss
Cr P Hodgkiss
Cr S Strange
Chief Executive Officer, Mr M Furr
Executive Support officer, Ms S Wood (Minutes)
Amanda Rajagopalan
Mr Graeme Currie
Mrs Melissa Schilling
Mr Mike Darby

#### 3. President Speech

"June 2024 seems so very long ago. There have been massive changes within our Shire organisation. I'd like to welcome Mr Mark Furr as our new CEO, taking over from Mr Darren Molllenoyux after many years.

We also have a new Works Manager, Manager of Finance and a reorganisation of our executive team. With a very tight economic environment and employment market, Council and Shire have gone about increasing efficiency whilst still providing absolute quality for our wonderful community, because in the end that is our purpose. Serving you. We want to make the most of rate payers' money, ever mindful of waste.

I would like to take this opportunity to not only thank our amazing shire staff, but my current councillors. Your commitment, support and professionalism to service is most valued by me . So thank you.

Speaking from a current perspective, Council has now been able to refocus away from the shop rebuild after many years of singular direction. The shop has proven that we can achieve so much if we put our collective minds to a goal. We can now go back to our pre Covid Strategy of revitalisation of the main street. Much has changed since, and new priorities have now become evident.

Many years ago, Bruce Rock was the envy of many for our roads and Council has prioritised this philosophy going forward. As such, we are focussing on purchasing a jetpatcher to increase speed, efficiency, and quality output of our works team. We are still committed to revitalising the Main Street, to upgrading facilities and constructing our new playground. We still have a vision for where Bruce Rock will be 10, 20, 50 years from now and we will take our amazing community there. But It's just that the direction, the "roads" we take ,will be different .....and now they'll also be smoother.

My fellow councillors and I are here for you. Mark, our CEO, is here for you. His door is always open. Never be afraid to talk to any of us because that is how we learn and can take us on a sustainable and enjoyable journey together.

Thank you"

## 4. Confirmation of the 2024 minutes of the Annual Meeting of Electors

#### **MEETING DECISION**

Moved: Mr Graeme Currie Seconded: Cr P Hodgkiss

That the minutes of the Annual Meeting of Electors held on 8 February 2024 be confirmed as a true and correct record.

Carried

## 5. Business arising from previous minutes

Awaiting response from Landgate from Mr Graeme Currie previous request that Bedell Road be correctly spelt "Bedells Road".

Discussion around the handling of the bins, liaising with our contractor. Mr Mark Furr stated that it is a process of replacing any damaged bins. An issue we cannot completely address and will aim to deal with it on a case-by-case basis.

## 6. Receiving of the 2023/24 Annual Report including Financial Statements

## **MEETING DECISION**

Moved: Cr Crooks Seconded: Cr Hodgkiss

That the Annual Report, including Audited Financial Statements for the period ending 30 June 2024 be accepted.

Carried

## 7. General Business

Nil

# 8. Closure of the meeting by the Shire President

The Shire President, Cr Ram Rajagopalan, thanked the electors for their attendance and closed the meeting at 3.08pm

These minutes were confirmed at a meeting on /
Signed
Cr R Rajagopalan
Dated /