SHIRE OF BRUCE ROCK

MINUTES – SPECIAL COUNCIL MEETING 7 May 2024

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Declaration of Opening	
Record of Attendance / Apologies / Leave of Absence (Previously Approved)	
•	
Response to Previous Public Questions Taken on Notice	2
Public Question Time	2
Announcements by Presiding Member	2
Reports of Officers	3
Confidential Items	3
9.1.1 Endorsement of Selection Criteria and Position Description for the Recruitment of Chie	ef
Executive Officer	3
New Business of an Urgent Nature Introduced by Discussion of the Meeting	5
Closure of Meeting	5
	Declaration of Purpose of Meeting Declarations of Interest Response to Previous Public Questions Taken on Notice Public Question Time Announcements by Presiding Member Reports of Officers Confidential Items. 9.1.1 Endorsement of Selection Criteria and Position Description for the Recruitment of Chie Executive Officer. New Business of an Urgent Nature Introduced by Discussion of the Meeting.

SHIRE OF BRUCE ROCK

MINUTES - SPECIAL MEETING 7 May 2024

1. Declaration of Opening

Shire President Ram Rajagopalan declared the meeting open at 6.00pm.

2. Record of Attendance / Apologies / Leave of Absence (Previously Approved)

Shire President Cr R Rajagopalan
Deputy Shire President Cr AR Crooks
Councillors Cr S Strange
Cr KP Foss
Cr PK Hodgkiss

Cr PK Hodgkiss Cr J Verhoogt Cr BJ Waight

Chief Executive Officer Mr DRS Mollenoyux

Manager of Governance and Community Ms N Ugarte

3. Declaration of Purpose of Meeting

4. Declarations of Interest

In accordance with Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995, the following disclosures of **financial** interest were made at the Council meeting.

Date	Name	Item No	Reason

In accordance with Section 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995, the following disclosures of **Closely Association Person and Impartiality** interest were made at the Council meeting.

Date	Name	Item No	Reason

In accordance with Sections 5.60B and 5.65 of the Local Government Act 1995, the following disclosures of **Proximity** interest were made at the Council meeting.

Date	Name	Item No	Reason

5. Response to Previous Public Questions Taken on Notice

6. Public Question Time

7. Announcements by Presiding Member

8. Reports of Officers

9. Confidential Items

Agenda Reference and Subject:

9.1.1 Endorsement of Selection Criteria and Position

Description for the Recruitment of Chief Executive

Officer

Reporting Officer: Ramesh Rajagopalan, Shire President

Author: Darren Mollenoyux, Chief Executive Officer

Disclosure of Interest:

Attachments: Item 9.1.1 Attachment A – CEO Selection Criteria and Position

Description (Confidential)

COUNCIL DECISION

Resolution Special Council Meeting May 24 – 9.1.1

Moved: Cr Strange Seconded: Cr Verhoogt

Officer Recommendation

That in accordance with Section 5.23(2) of the Local Government Act 1995, the meeting is closed to the members of the public for this item as the following sub-section applies:

(b) the personal affairs of any person;

For: Cr Crooks, Cr Foss, Cr Hodgkiss, Cr Rajagopalan, Cr Strange, Cr Verhoogt and Cr Waight

Against: Nil Carried: 7/0

COUNCIL DECISION

Resolution Special Council Meeting May 24 - 9.1.2

Moved: Cr Waight Seconded: Cr Strange

Officer Recommendation

That in accordance with Section 5.23(2) of the Local Government Act 1995, Council reopens the meeting to the members of the public.

For: Cr Crooks, Cr Foss, Cr Hodgkiss, Cr Rajagopalan, Cr Strange, Cr Verhoogt and Cr Waight

Against: Nil Carried: 7/0

COUNCIL DECISION

Resolution Special Council Meeting May 24 – 9.1.3

Moved: Cr Hodgkiss Seconded: Cr Verhoogt

Officer Recommendation

That Council endorses the CEO selection criteria and position description, as prepared by Ms Emily Bulloch from Beilby Downing Teal in conjunction with the CEO Selection Panel.

For: Cr Crooks, Cr Foss, Cr Hodgkiss, Cr Rajagopalan, Cr Strange, Cr Verhoogt and Cr Waight

Against: Nil

CARRIED BY ABSOLUTE MAJORITY 7/0

10. New Business of an Urgent Nature Introduced by Discussion of the Meeting

11. Closure of Meeting.

The Shire President Ram Rajagopalan thanked everyone for their attendance and declared the meeting closed at 6.14pm.

These minutes were confirmed at a meeting on 16 May 2024.

Cr R Rajagopalan Shire President